Community Action Board

  “Hardworking people should be able to afford housing and still have enough money for food and basic necessities.”


Since 1968, local Community Action Agencies have been required to have tripartite governing boards to gain and retain designation as eligible entities to receive CSBG (Community Service Block Grant) funding.

Effective tripartite boards reflect and promote the unique anti-poverty leadership, action, and mobilization responsibilities assigned by law to Community Action Agencies.  Boards are responsible for assuring that agencies continue to assess and respond to the causes and conditions of poverty in their community, achieve anticipated family and community outcomes, and remain administratively and fiscally sound.

Tripartite Community Action Board composition:

  • At least one-third is represented by low-income individuals and families,
  • Up to one-third is represented by Elected Officials or their Representatives, and
  • The remaining board is comprised of major groups or interests in the community served.

2017-2018 Klamath & Lake Community Action Board Members


Silvia Pacheco, Board Chair
 Low-Income Representative

Jay Otero, Board Vice Chair
Community Sector

Amy Clark, Treasurer
Community Sector

Lee Morgan Brooks, Secretary
Low-Income Representative

Elizabeth Orgeron, Board Member
 Community Sector

Dawn Neal-Ruiz, Board Member
 Low-Income Representative

Sharon Sconchin, Board Member
 Low-Income Representative

Ken Kestner, Board Member
Lake County Commissioner

Pamela Redding, Board Member
Elected Public Official Designee for Leda Hunter

Pastor Billy Redd, Board Member
Elected Public Official Designee for Rhonda Vickerman